The Divergent Trilogy – Veronica Roth

I have become one of those people who watch the movie first and then read the books later. Although, that’s usually a result of not knowing about the book until the movie’s release. Still, there is something to the logic of watching the movie first. By participating in the reverse order I find I can appreciate both versions for what they are – separate works that tie in with one another. It also avoids major disappointment in the movie, having not become fiercely attached to the book version (for that reason I disliked Girl with a Pearl Earring and One for The Money with a passion).

Ok, so I am a little late to the bandwagon, but I have just recently finished reading the hugely popular Divergent trilogy of books by author Veronica Roth and I must say, I am a fan. This is largely due to the fact that I have seen Divergent and Insurgent at the cinemas so I was able to visualise the cinematic version of the people and the world.

I found the books to be an easy yet engaging read with each novel taking me roughly 7 – 8 hours to devour (Divergent, Insurgent, and Allegiant).  I loved the characters, the voice and the pace. It took me a little while to get used to the present tense format but by the time I was halfway through Divergent it wasn’t an issue. If you are yet to read the books but have liked the movies so far then I must warn you, as with most movie adaptations, there are quite a few changes and omissions that you will notice (especially in Insurgent where they switch parts around and give Jeanine Matthews a much greater role for the movie). I am curious (and a little anxious) to see how they treat the movie version of Allegiant and just how much gets changed or omitted from it. I secretly hope they rewrite the ending for the movie but a small part of me can understand the author’s intention so it would be a shame and perhaps a bit of a sell out if it got a total rewrite.

I love how these books deal with sensitive subject matter/themes such as fitting in, love, loss, fear, violence and selflessness and how it highlights just how complex it can be to be human.

Would I read the series again? Yes, but due to the fact I couldn’t put them down I think I would need to take a break before picking them up again. Do I have a favourite out of the three? Divergent was the most enjoyable for me.

Leave a Reply

