Damn you, Mentos, Mahjong and Solitaire!

You’ve stolen my time again! How addictive you are. One more game, one more win. There goes an hour… but at least my breath is minty?

It is so easy to get caught up with strategy games, especially when all you have to do is click a button. Yes, it is an epic waste of time, so why is it so addictive? Is it the challenge of winning or the empty sense of accomplishment that comes from outsmarting a computer after countless losses? Or, perhaps it’s the fact that you don’t need good weather, money or other people to participate in order to play.

Maybe I should open a strategy game support group called WTFDMTG (Where The F%$# Did My Time Go). Bowls of Mentos and cups of coffee would be the group’s version of nicotine patches and the title of the game you are addicted to would be our Aliases. “Hi, my name is Mahjong and I haven’t seen the sun for four whole weeks.” “Hi, Mahong! Welcome to the group.” Hmmmm… I think I could be onto something here.

Leave a Reply

